## **Association Business**

## AD INTERIM BUSINESS OF THE COUNCIL OF THE AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION, 1937–1938.

Office of the Secretary, 2215 Constitution Ave., Washington, D. C.

LETTER NO. 2.

October 4, 1938.

To the Members of the Council:

For the information of the new members of the Council, it is pointed out that motions made by mail in the interim between meetings of the Council require no second.

21. Committee on Recipe Book. Chairman Lascoff nominates the following members of the ASSOCIATION as members of this Committee for 1938-1939: Chairman J. Leon Lascoff, I. A. Becker, F. E. Bibbins, H. W. Burlage, C. J. Clayton, E. F. Cook, M. G. de Navarre, Bernard Fantus, R. P. Fischelis, Alice-Esther Garvin, E. N. Gathercoal, Wm. H. Glover, Wm. Gray, L. D. Havenhill, S. L. Hilton, H. Evert Kendig, J. F. McCloskey, C. E. McCormick, G. A. Moulton, J. C. Munch, C. Leonard O'Connell, G. C. Schicks, R. L. Swain, R. E. Terry, J. K. Thum and C. P. Wimmer.

(Motion No. 1) It is moved by Kelly that those persons nominated be elected members of the Committee on Recipe Book for 1938-1939.

22. Appointment of Standing and Special Committees and Delegates of the Association. President Lascoff presents the following appointments:

Committee on Social and Economic Relations.—same as Committee on the Study of Pharmacy which is to be deleted.

Committee on Cosmetics .--- John C. Bauer, Baltimore, Md., to be added, otherwise no changes.

Committee on Local and Student Branches.—Chairman, Ernest Little, Newark, N. J.; Robert S. Fuqua, Baltimore; R. E. Terry, Chicago; K. L. Kelly, Washington, D. C.; Ida Mary Fox, Big Rapids, Mich.; Frank L. Mercer, St. Louis; B. A. Bialk, Detroit; H. T. F. Givens, New York City; C. L. Cox, Newark; N. T. Chamberlin, Cleveland; F. A. Geue, Portland, Ore.; C. V. Netz, Minneapolis; A. K. Leberknight, Philadelphia; F. S. McGinnis, Pittsburgh; Peggy Kreizinger, San Francisco; Walter Suda, Los Angeles; R. H. Weaver, Jr., Gainesville; Robert Kealey, Pittsburgh; Minnie M. Meyer, Pullman, Wash.; Isabelle Seissman, Brooklyn; Randolph Smith, Louisville; Louis P. Muller, New Orleans; Bless Rusk, University, Miss.

Board of Canvassers.—Chairman, Ambrose Hunsberger, Philadelphia; Theodore Campbell, Jr., Philadelphia; James C. Munch, Upper Darby, Pa.

Committee on Legislation.-No changes.

Committee on U. S. Pharmacopæia.-C. Leonard O'Connell, Pittsburgh (1948).

Committee on Pharmaceutical Syllabus.-Richard A. Deno, Newark (1945).

Committee on Pharmacy Week .-- No changes-personnel to be announced later.

Committee on Horticultural Nomenclature.--No changes.

Committee on Physiological Testing.-No changes.

Committee on Weights and Measures.--Walter H. Varnum, Lawrence, Kans., in place of W. Mac Childs. Otherwise, no changes.

Committee on William Procter, Jr., Monument Fund.—instead of Memorial Fund. No changes.

Committee on Lay Press Relations.—Chairman, R. W. Rodman, Bloomfield, N. J.; H. C. Christensen, 130 N. Wells St., Chicago; E. F. Kelly, Washington, D. C.; Ernest Little, Trenton; J. Lester Hayman, Morgantown, W. Va.; R. L. Swain, Baltimore, Md.

Committee on Endowment Fund.—Chairman, Wm. B. Day, Chicago; H. A. B. Dunning, Baltimore; Chas. E. Vanderkleed, Philadelphia; F. W. Sultan, St. Louis; F. J. Wulling, Minneapolis, Minn.

The American Institute of Pharmacy Maintenance Committee .- No changes.

Committee on Pharmacists in the Government Service.—No changes.

International Pharmaceutical Federation.—R. L. Swain, Baltimore, in place of Otto Raubenheimer, New York City. Otherwise, no changes.

American Association for the Advancement of Science.—Councilors, E. F. Kelly and W. F. Rudd, Richmond, Va.

1267

National Drug Trade Conference Delegates.—No changes.

Committee on Prescription Tolerances.—No changes, except Frederick Grill, Portland, Ore., replaces A. O. Mickelsen.

Committee on Professional Relations.—Chairman, Leonard A. Seltzer, Detroit; C. B. Jordan, Lafayette, Ind.; E. R. Serles, Brookings, S. Dak.; W. Mac Childs, Eldorado, Kans.; Charles V. Selby, Clarksburg, W. Va.; O. U. Sisson, Chicago; R. T. Lakey, Detroit.

Committee on Modernization of Pharmacy Laws.—Same, with George W. Mather, New York City, added.

Committee on Council on Pharmaceutical Practice.--No changes.

Committee to Study Courses in History of Pharmacy.-No changes.

Committee on Dental Pharmacy.-No changes.

Committee to Consider By-Laws of the House of Delegates.—Chairman, R. L. Swain, Baltimore; H. C. Christensen, Chicago; F. W. Schaefer, New York City.

Committee to Study By-Laws.---No changes.

American Documentation Institute.-No changes.

American Society for Testing Materials.—Same, except Roy K. Snyder, Washington, D. C., replaces Kenneth L. Kelly.

Commission on Standardization of Biological Stains.—No changes. General Membership Committee.—No changes.

The roster will appear in the October issue of the JOURNAL. 23. Use of the Text of N. F. VI. The following communication has been received from

Chairman DuMez of the Committee on Publications:

"In response to your letter of August 31st, it is stated that I see no reason why permission should not be granted to use the text of the National Formulary in the revision of the book by Sollmann and Hanzlik entitled 'Introduction to Experimental Pharmacology.' They have had permission to use the text of the National Formulary in previous additions and so far as I can determine, they have not made improper use of this privilege. I, therefore, recommend that permission be granted to use the text of the National Formulary for comment in revising the textbook by Sollmann and Hanzlik entitled 'Introduction to Experimental Pharmacology.'"

(*Motion No. 2*) It is moved by DuMez that Professors Sollmann and Hanzlik be granted permission to use portions of the text of the N. F. VI in the forthcoming revision of a book "Introduction to Experimental Pharmacology" with the usual acknowledgment and for value received.

24. Local Secretary and Headquarters for the 1939 Meeting. The secretary is advised that the local committee have nominated R. C. Wilson as Local Secretary and the Atlanta-Biltmore Hotel, Atlanta, Ga., as the Headquarters for this meeting.

A recommendation as to the time of the meeting will be submitted later.

(Motion No. 3) It is moved by Kelly that R. C. Wilson be elected as Local Secretary and that the Atlanta-Biltmore Hotel be approved as the Headquarters, for the 1939 meeting.

25. Applicants for Membership. The following applications, properly endorsed, accompanied with the first year's dues, and recommended by two members of the Association, have been received:

No. 1, Frederick William McNabb, 30 Moffatt Road, Salem, Mass.; No. 2, Edward Eugene Clark, 1416 Rankin Drive, St. Louis, Mo.; No. 3, Helen Mary Kouba, Mercy Hospital, Clinton, Iowa; No. 4, John E. Ziebarth, 8100 W. National Ave., West Allis, Wis.; No. 5, Joe Robert Burns, 1304 N. Greenwood Ave., Tulsa, Okla.; No. 6, James Wheeler McCormley, Carlisle Barracks, Pa.; No. 7, Clemmy O. Miller, 2344 Oakland Ave., Milwaukee, Wis.; No. 8, James Wm. McGraw, Powell Pharmacy, Redding, Calif.; No. 9, Charles B. Porta, Calle 13, 109, Vedado, Havana, Cuba; No. 10, Mrs. Clara B. Miller, 824 Kansas Ave., Topeka, Kans.; No. 11, Vincent de Lalla, 704 Blecker St., Utica, N. Y.; No. 12, George Henry Wilson, 266 S. Hanover, Carlisle, Pa.; No. 13, Rudolf W. Gleissner, 286 Brooklyn Ave., Brooklyn, N. Y.; No. 14, Oliver Wm. Busch, 4351 Pearl Rd., Cleveland, Ohio; No. 15, Edward I. Green, Boston & Atlantic Aves., Atlantic City, N. J.; No. 16, David E. Schlonsky, 1912 N. 16th St., Milwaukee, Wis.; No. 17, L. M. O'Dell, 106 N. LeRoy St., Fenton, Mich.

(Motion No. 4) Vote on application for membership in the Association.

E. F. KELLY, Secretary.